April Message

Stations of the Cross

During the Easter Week, we focus on the Passion of Christ’s last days; many of us reflect and pray the Stations of the Cross (Traditional or Scriptural versions).  Sometimes we forget about the most important part of Easter, the Resurrection.  After Easter, I sometimes pray the Stations of the Resurrection.  I’ve always been interested in history.  This interest includes the historical Christ.  I think that is why I enjoy praying either version of the Stations of the Cross.  These stations ground me in my faith; they are tangible proof of the historical Christ.  Although this helps me with the foundations of my beliefs, I must focus on the Divinity of Christ.  I find praying the Stations of the Resurrection is an excellent way to do this.

Stations of the Cross – Traditional                                                (Events of Christ – Easter Week) Stations of the Cross – Scriptural                             (Events of Christ – Easter Week, based on Scripture) St. John Paul Stations of the Resurrection                                  (Events of Christ between Easter & Pentecost)
1.       Pilate condemns Jesus to die

2.       Jesus accepts his cross

3.       Jesus falls for the first time

4.       Jesus meets his mother, Mary

5.       Simon helps carry the cross

6.       Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

7.       Jesus falls for the second time

8.       Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

9.       Jesus falls for the third time

10.    Jesus is stripped of his clothes

11.    Jesus is nailed to the cross

12.    Jesus dies on the cross

13.    Jesus is taken down from the cross

14.    Jesus is placed in the tomb


1.     Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane

2.     Jesus is betrayed by Judas and arrested

3.     Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin

4.     Jesus is denied by Peter

5.     Jesus is judged by Pontius Pilate

6.     Jesus is scourged at the pillar and crowned with thorns

7.     Jesus bears the cross

8.     Jesus is helped by Simon the Cyrenian to carry the cross

9.     Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

10.  Jesus is crucified

11.  Jesus promises His Kingdom to the repentant thief

12.  Jesus speaks to His mother and the Beloved Disciple

13.  Jesus dies on the cross

14.  Jesus is placed in the tomb

1.    Jesus rises from the dead

2.    The finding of the empty tomb

3.    The Risen Lord appears to Mary Magdalene

4.    Jesus appears on the road to Emmaus

5.    Jesus is known at the Breaking of Bread

6.    Jesus appears to His disciples in Jerusalem

7.    Jesus gives the disciples the power to forgive sins

8.    Jesus strengthens the faith of Thomas

9.    Jesus appears by the Sea of Tiberias

10. Jesus tells Peter to feed His sheep (Primacy of Peter)

11. Jesus commissions the disciples on the mountain

12. Jesus ascends into heaven

13. Mary and the disciples wait in prayer

14. The Holy Spirit descends at Pentecost

As we finish our Lenten journey this year, I ask you to remember and pray for the historical Christ.  Also, do not forget about the Divine Christ, and please consider reflecting, praying, and celebrating the Stations of the Resurrection after Easter Sunday.

Lenten/Easter blessings on behalf of the staff,

Greg Kostiuk


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s