Stations of the Resurrection


During the Easter Week we focus on Christ’s last days; many of us reflect and pray the Stations of the Cross.  Sometimes we forget about the most important part of Easter, the Resurrection.

After the Sabbath, at dawn on the first day of the week, Mary Magdalene and the               other Mary went to look at the tomb.

There was a violent earthquake, for an angel of the Lord came down from heaven             and, going to the tomb, rolled back the stone and sat on it.  His appearance was like           lightning, and his clothes were white as snow.  The guards were so afraid of him                 that they shook and became like dead men.

The angel said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for             Jesus, who was crucified.  He is not here; he has risen, just as he said. Come and see           the place where he lay.  Then go quickly and tell his disciples: ‘He has risen from                 the dead and is going ahead of you into Galilee. There you will see him.’ Now I have           told you.”

So the women hurried away from the tomb, afraid yet filled with joy, and ran to tell           his disciples. Suddenly Jesus met them. “Greetings,” he said. They came to him,                   clasped his feet and worshiped him. Then Jesus said to them, “Do not be afraid. Go             and tell my brothers to go to Galilee; there they will see me.”          Matthew 28:1-10

Recently, someone reminded me of the fourteen Stations of the Resurrection, a counterpart to the Stations of the Cross.  Whereas the Stations of the Cross show the events of Christ before Easter, the Stations of the Resurrection show the events between Easter and Pentecost.  The Stations of the Resurrections are:

Stations of the Resurrection (Via Lucis)
1. Jesus Rises From the Dead (Matthew 28:1-10)
2. The Finding of the Empty Tomb (John 20:1-10)
3. The Risen Lord Appears to Mary Magdalene (John 20:11-18)
4. Jesus Appears on the Road to Emmaus (Luke 24:13-27)3686295
5. Jesus is Known at the Breaking of Bread (Luke 24:28-35)
6. Jesus Appears to His Disciples in Jerusalem (Luke 24:36-43)
7. Jesus Gives the Disciples the Power to Forgive Sins (John 20:19-23)
8. Jesus Strengthens the Faith of Thomas (John 20:24-29)
9. Jesus Appears by the Sea of Tiberias (John 21:1-14)
10. Jesus Tell Peter to Feed His Sheep (Primacy of Peter) (John 21:15-17, 19b)
11. Jesus Commissions the Disciples on the Mountain (Matthew 28:16-20)
12. Jesus Ascends into Heaven (Acts 1:6-12a)
13. Mary and the Disciples Wait in Prayer (Acts 1:12-14)
14. The Holy Spirit Descends at Pentecost (Acts 2:1-13)

As we finish our Lenten journey this year I ask you continue your faith journey after Easter by reflecting, praying, and celebrating the Stations of the Resurrection.  Also, I invite you to join Our Lady of the Assumption School as Mrs. Duke’s Grade 4P Religion class and Miss Chief Moon’s PM Kindergarten class lead us in the Stations of the Resurrection during our Resurrection Service on April 24 at 1:45 pm.

Lenten/Easter blessings on behalf of the staff,

Greg Kostiuk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s